top of page

First Anime Review

Anime review: Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

Holly shit, I got off of Tumblr and started writing. First steps are always difficult even if the topic is something I'm incredibly passionate about (ANIME) but I'll cut to the chase. Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! I can't even with that title. I'll abbreviate with Watashi.

 

I've never laughed and cried simultaneously so hard with any other anime as I did to this series. The emotions that flowed through every episode of Watashi were incredible and relatable. As difficult as it is for me to admit, the characters struggles hit close to home. A psychological visual of the inside look of living with anxiety, depression, envy, and jealousy.The story follows the life of a freshman high schooler. She's in all sense the definition of a"nerd”. She embodies the otaku culture and has a passion for video games and anime. For whatever reason, society has deemed these two ingredients "Social Suicide". A lonely reality I knew all too well.The series is riddled with other anime references so much so it's a game within the anime to catch them all. Adult humor is graciously sprinkled throughout the series making Watashi an all-around incredible experience. You'll cringe into your seat, cry from the overwhelming personal connection and laugh your tears away during this 12 episode binge coaster. The ending comes too soon reminding you of that terrible one night stand but all in all, I'd recommend this to anyone needing a reminder of how to feel again.


bottom of page