top of page

The Grand Poke-Adventure


Buckets full of cards safely nuzzled into their plastic protectors, binders thick, filled to the brim of holographic treasure. 151 plush toys lived among the shelves around the room. Inspired and captivated; to be the very best was instilled in me when I was but 4 years old. I spent my whole adolescent mind exploring Kanto, adventuring through Johto, I traveled across time and theater seats, the Ancient ones have been with me every day of my life. The story grew as my own unfolded, an obsession, a community, the Pokemon Fandom.

First heartbreak 21 at 18:14, I learned to let what you love be free. Pokemon was there from the beginning, the show set fuel to my wanderlust. The adventure of discovery; the bonds created through life. The show is reality but told through a special set of lens. The story taught me that through life you'll forge bonds with others and despite the intersecting fate lines sometimes our paths differ from others, but no matter the distance, they live on in our hearts, memory and unwavering love for one another.




Ash showed me, despite hard work and drive to be the best sometimes you won't be, and there's nothing wrong with that. Be the best for yourself, not others; be the best version of yourself for yourself but never let the fear of failing keep you from trying. Fate is a finicky thing, set in stone but so easily manipulated, actions ripple through time, an ever-changing vast Unknown.

I'm sure my parents never expected me to be so consumed by a fictional world, but they were less than surprised when they saw my first tattoo: a magical Mew surrounded by dancing bubbles, placed at the top of my spine; I'll always have Mew on the mind. A character that personifies my inner child; innocent, loving unstoppable, an ever-changing chameleon of purity.


With the release of Pokemon Go the community grew like wild-fire, strangers became friends and the world of Pokemon came to life like never before, a "fad" that captured the curiosity of all. Despite the drop in players, it doesn't take away the happiness it created, even for a short moment. Pokemon entered the reality of so many, uniting and creating friendships, temporary or eternal. Adventures were shared, fate lines crossed inspiration ignited. This is my thank you to the franchise, and the many friends I've encountered on my journey.


bottom of page