top of page

Mental Health Awareness: Lita Kino

Trigger Warning: This article/blog post contains information and discussion on mental health which may be triggering to some.

One in four people around the world are affected by mental illness; that's an estimated 1.1 billion people worldwide. Mental illness occurs in a kaleidoscope of ways. For some it manifests as depression or anxiety, others it takes the form of autism, eating disorders, schizophrenia or substance abuse. Mental health has reached an epidemic level, affecting people of all ages, location and wealth and yet little has been done to address the causes and resolve the effects; not to mention many can't afford most treatment options that are available. Living day to day with any form of mental illness has become a "custom". People find their own ways to manage, some seek peer to peer help and comfort from those who also suffer from similar "issues". Ultimately mental health has a long way to go before many can feel some sense of normality in their days. There are millions of unheard stories from individuals all around the world. Stories that can bring both insight into the daily life that some sufferers experience and a sense of relatability when finding out someone else experiences the same struggles or triggers. When we share our stories and our quirky ways of dealing with the stress it can help others who are searching for advice but are to afraid to ask. They discover new ways to manage their mental health through the experiences of others.


The topic of mental health is a sensitive subject to bring up, some will attempt to avoid the topic altogether; I believe in sharing experiences both the ugly and positive moments; normalizing Mental Health in hopes that less people feel ashamed of something that affects so many around the world. The topic is considered taboo, uneasiness is experienced when the subject is brought up because up until recently mental health has been looked down on through poor representation of the issue through media, jobs even by some healthcare professionals. Though it may be difficult to talk about, communication has been known to help many; be it consulting a professional or just finding solace in the community. Today's blog post covers a little bit of both the good and the bad but it shares the experiences of a wonderful blogger Lita Kino of KinoReviews that I've had the pleasure of meeting through Twitter. Feel free to check out her blog and Youtube, guaranteed to bring some smiles your way.

 


Ano Nora: What are the current and past mental health issue(s) that have affected your life? Lita Kino: Autism I would put under mental health but the picture is so much bigger than people can actually care to see. Autism is a funny thing to understand, let alone diagnose even myself with it, even more confusing. I’m classed as a high functioning adult, when people meet me it’s always the same reaction - thinking I have “nothing wrong me”. It’s a normal reaction I’ve always gotten, doesn’t offend me as it’s a hard thing to anyone presume that I actually had autism. On a personal level in how it affects me, mostly to do with change, no matter how big or small. It throws me off my daily routine, my whole world stops - nothing else matters to me in the moment than fixing what’s changed. Trying new things is another big thing, going to a new social group new activity of some sorts. My anxiety just wells up inside, like a tsunami ready to crash. Regarding autism and anxiety both hand in hand, again there is so much to it in combination. Personally, When I shut down, my anxiety kicks in, I describe it as a meltdown. I’ve found as an individual with autism everything is heightened tenfold for me.

Ano Nora: The internet and accessibility to people and information have helped shed some light on the stigma surrounding mental illness, what are your feelings in regards to the stigma associated with mental health? Lita Kino: From an autistic perspective, there is a lot of misunderstanding and especially with the word “disability”. I’ve found most people think someone with autism ‘are not smart’, that there dumb and can’t manage daily tasks behind the stigma people believe disabilities, autism, there is a bigger picture people are not looking hard enough. Having a disability ranges from a high functioning individual like me to someone who has only one hand or someone who has a severe disability requiring extra help. Autism doesn’t make you less smart or not normal, just makes you different. It’s something for such a long time for me to come to terms with and be comfortable about it. I think though these days people are becoming more and more aware that disability means various different conditions and affects people differently. The same goes for mental health in general, with the growth of social media over the years, the more people are talking about it. It’s all a great thing.

Ano Nora: How do you handle the days where you relapse into those not so comfortable places? What keeps you going on the day to day, what drives you?​ Lita Kino: When I have my ‘bad days’ say if there is some change in my life, I’ve not liked. Usually, the waterworks come and let them out till there is nothing left. It’s honestly my coping mechanism to let it all out then usually after I feel better. Why I consider myself bit of a crybaby but letting the waterworks fall is therapeutic. They’ll be times when it’s a daunting task to bounce back, might take me a lot longer, during these times usually I turn to anime. Watching one episode of anime usually make everything feel better, it’s one of the reasons watching the medium means a lot to me. It was a coping mechanism back in my teens during high school. As to what keeps me going as my autism I find the need to keep busy. Otherwise, the negative thoughts will cloud my mind and make me lose focus, which is why the million hobbies I invest myself in - keep the negative at bay. Having some kind of hobby or outlet where you can forget about things for a brief time is something important to others. Reading, watching anime, art etc my list is long haha, it all keeps me busy and best positive to have keeping out the negative feelings and thoughts.

Ano Nora: What anime do you believe portrayed mental illness in a relatable way to you. Lita Kino: Putting me on the spot with this question but honestly would be two anime. First would be Amanchu following main character Futaba. She’s scared of change and her anxiety flares up in new situations, which was so relatable for me. The series is easily relatable for anyone who has anxiety and is a delight watching Futaba grow as a person throughout this scenic, soothing series. It’s a massive favourite for me. Secondly is A Silent Voice and not because of Shoka main character who has a hearing impairment. Not just for this connection but mainly Shoko feels she is nothing but a burden on everyone, there was a time in myself feeling like for so long, mainly in my teenhood. Shoko is also very apologetic about silly things, which is a constant thing I’m always doing. But A Silent Voice in itself is an excellent scope into mental illness and would be hard to not find relation with. Ano Nora: Mental illness affects the day to day including personal relationships. What advice would you give a significant other who doesn't also suffer from mental illness? Lita Kino: I think all anyone would ask is for those close to you, to listen to you when you need it most is the best answer I have here. It’s a hard question to answer as I’m sure other people would have different answers to this depending on their situation. From my own experience, the people closest to me know how to be there for me when I need it or having a bad day. Even people I’m close with that have no idea about autism, simply they’ll just listen and say what they feel is right. I never expect them to understand Autism, how they're supposed to help, to simply just listen and talk through things whatever is more than enough. Listening is the most powerful thing you can do is the best advice I can give. Ano Nora: Do you have advice for people who are too embarrassed or shy to ask for themselves? Lita Kino: This is not an easy question to answer in my eyes because easy for no-one with whatever they’re dealing with to just come out and ask for help. I’m no expert when it comes to mental illness all I could encourage is to confide in someone close to you, before anyone finding out that you might not want just yet. It’s a massive step to come out and say what it is, you need to go at your own pace. To remember there is no rush with these things, this is about you and your pace. This is what I think matters most when it comes to mental health, going at the pace of others.

 

The struggles people face in their personal life are rarely brought to the surface; it takes a strong will to have the courage to speak up about their strifes and I'm so happy to have been able to share Litas story with all of you. I hope some were able to find some solace in her words and experiences or at the very least open your eyes to the reality that those who live with mental health go through. Don't forget to check out her blog and continue to follow Litas story as told through her inspirations and interests! Sources: https://ourworldindata.org/mental-health

bottom of page